My Cart:

0 item(s) - $0.00
You have no items in your shopping cart.


Frankenstein, or The Modern Prometheus


Frankenstein, or The Modern Prometheus

Product Number: 4743*

Composer: Larsen, Libby

Sku Product Name Price Qty
4743 Frankenstein, or The Modern Prometheus (Piano/Vocal Score)
4743A Frankenstein: The Modern Prometheus (Libretto)


Written by Libby Larsen based on the book by Mary Shelley

Musical Drama in 14 Scenes. Conventional opera combined with video and mixed sound production. Mary Wollstonecraft Shelley's Frankenstein, or, The Modern Prometheus, written from 1816-1817, is an exploration of the intellectual ambition, technological arrogance, isolation, and the deep human need for companionship. The plot, stated simply, concerns a young medical student, Victor Frankenstein. Having dabbled in the taboo arts of alchemy, he succumbs to his ambition and combines his medical and alchemical skills to create a human life. Ignoring the warnings of his friends and family, he uses electricity to create a new life which he immediately repels as a monstrous, evil creation. The monster, an innocent, is cast loose and forced to survive alone. Seized by a multiplicity of sensations, it learns to distinguish and supply its basic needs for food, clothing, and shelter. Finally, it conceals itself in the dark corner of a cottage. There, by observing some cottagers, it learns to speak, to read, to love. When the monster at last approaches people in search of companionship, they repel him, even attack him. Tragically, he realizes that he is condemned to a lonely, alienated existence. He confronts Frankenstein, demanding that Victor create a monstrous mate. Frankenstein agrees, but then recants. The monster responds by causing the death of Justine, a trusted companion, and by murdering all those dear to Frankenstein: William, his younger brother; Elizabeth, the bride; and Clerval, his best friend. In the end, Victor must lead his own life lonely, wandering, isolated, half-mad, in endless pursuit of the monster. As in Shelley's novel, the character of the explorer, Captain Robert Walton, frames both the action and thematic content of the story. Duration: ~ 1 Hour, 25 Minutes

VICTOR FRANKENSTEIN, 20 years oldTenor
ELIZABETH, Frankenstein's fiance, 18 years oldLyris Soprano
CAPTAIN ROBERT WALTON, about 25 years oldBaritone
SHIP VICTOR, wizened, older FrankensteinTenor
WILLIAM, Frankenstein's younger brotherBoy Soprano
JUSTINE, Elizabeth's friend, 18 years oldMezzo-Soprano
CLERVAL, Frankenstein's friend, 20 years oldBaritone
CHORUS, sailors and Victor doubles8 Men

Instrumentation Notes:
1(pic) 1(EH) 1(BCl) 1(CBsn) - 1 1 0 0 - T+P(2) - Kybd(Pf, DX7 Synth) - String Quintet


View complete Piano/Vocal score:

Additional Information

Product Number 4743*
Available Editions

Composer Larsen, Libby
Voicing & Instruments Musical Drama in 14 Scenes
Premier May 1990, The Minnesota Opera Company
Notable & Recent Performances West Edge Opera, 2017
Popular Opera Searches Full Length Opera
Publisher E. C. Schirmer Music Company

The libretto is adapted from the book by Mary Shelley. Libby Larsen's new opera Frankenstein uses high technology to warn against the dangers of high technology. Its music is always powerful, sometimes beautiful, never used for purely musical value but for theatrical effectiveness.

Product Tags

Use spaces to separate tags. Use single quotes (') for phrases.