My Cart:

0 item(s) - $0.00
You have no items in your shopping cart.


Eternal Light: A Requiem (Vocal/Choral Score)

Eternal Light: A Requiem (Vocal/Choral Score)

Product Number: 56-0002

Composer: Goodall, Howard



Eternal Light: A Requiem is arranged for an accompanied mixed voices choir with soprano, tenor and baritone solo options. It is by the award-winning British composer and internationally acclaimed broadcaster, Howard Goodall, and is a stunning new Requiem for the modern day. It is intended to provide solace to the grieving, reflecting on the words of the Latin Mass by juxtaposing them with poems in English. Speaking about the work, Howard Goodall said, "For me, a modern Requiem is one that acknowledges the unbearable loss and emptiness that accompanies the death of loved ones, a loss that is not easily ameliorated with platitudes about the joy awaiting us in the afterlife. This, like Brahms’, is a Requiem for the living, addressing their suffering and endurance, a Requiem focusing on the consequences of interrupted lives.”

Goodall's fresh and unorthodox interpretation of the Requiem Mass was released on EMI Classics, performed by Christ Church Cathedral Choir, Oxford and London Musici conducted by Stephen Darlington with soloists Natasha Marsh, Alfie Boe and Christopher Maltman. Duration: 40:00

1. Requiem: Kyrie: Close now thine eyes
2. Revelation: Factum est silentium
3. Litany: Belief
4. Hymn: Lead, kindly light
5. Lacrymosa: Do not stand at my grave and weep
6. Dies Irae: In Flanders field
7. Recordare: Drop, drop slow tears
8. Revelation: Tum angelus tertius clanxit
9. Agnus Dei
10. In Paradisum: Lux aeterna

Listening to Howard Goodall's deeply moving Eternal Light: A Requiem, you can start to appreciate the depth and range of Howard’s music

Additional Information

Product Number 56-0002
Available Editions Orchestra score and parts available for rental from Schott Music Corporation- click here to email.
Available separately:
Requiem: Kyrie: Close now thine eyes, 56-0049
Revelation: Factum est silentium, 56-0050
Litany: Belief, 56-0051
Hymn: Lead, kindly light, 56-0052
Lacrymosa: Do not stand at my grave and weep, 56-0053
Dies Irae: In Flanders fields, 56-0054
Recordare: Drop, drop slow tears, 56-0055
Revelation: Tum angelus tertius clanxit, 56-0056
Agnus Dei, 56-0057
In Paradisum: Lux aeterna, 56-0058
Composer/Arranger Goodall, Howard
Text Author Fletcher, Phineas; Frye, Elizabeth; McCrae, John; Newman, John Henry; Quarles, Francis; Thorp, Ann
Voicing & Instruments Soprano Solo, Tenor and/or Baritone Soloists, SATB Chorus with [Piano] or [Keyboards, Harp and Strings] or [Piano, Harp, Organ]
Instrumentation Orchestra: 2 Keyboards, Strings, opt. Harp
Reduced Orchestra: Piano, Harp and Organ (3-Manual+Pedals)
Liturgical Year Lent, Triduum/Three Days
Special Services/Occasions Tenebrae
Topics (Sacred) Heaven, Lament/Grief/Sorrow
Topics (Secular) Death/Loss/Remembrance/Afterlife, War/Peace/Unity
Difficulty Medium
Traditional Texts Requiem
Language of Text English, Latin
Historical Period 21st Century
Popular Choral Searches Multi-Movement/Large Choral Work
Series Choral Music of Howard Goodall
Publisher MorningStar Music Publishers
Copyright Sales Restrictions This item is for sale in North America ONLY.

Product Tags

Use spaces to separate tags. Use single quotes (') for phrases.