My Cart:

0 item(s) - $0.00
You have no items in your shopping cart.


Dawn of Night (CD Recording)

More Views

Dawn of Night (CD Recording)

Product Number: CD-57-SC

Composer: Chatman, Stephen



University of Toronto MacMillan Singers
Hilary Apfelstadt, conductor

Stephen Chatman’s choral music is lyrical and expressive, an effective wedding of musical texts and well-crafted melodic and harmonic writing. In Dawn of Night, the music represents a range of characteristics, depending on the poetry. In this particular collection of music, much of the poetry is by female writers: Joanna Lilley, Christina Rossetti, Sarah Teasdale, and Tara Wohlberg; Walt Whitman and Canadian poet Archibald Lampman are also represented. One of Canada’s most frequently performed composers,

Stephen Chatman, C.M., D.M.A. is Professor of Composition at the University of British Columbia School of Music. With more than 100 published works, his music has sold over 500,000 printed copies and many of his choral pieces have entered the standard repertory.

Conductor Hilary Apfelstadt is Professor and Director of Choral Activities at the University of Toronto where she holds the Elmer Iseler Chair in Conducting. She is also artistic director of Exultate Chamber Singers in Toronto. After first teaching in Canada, she spent three decades working in the U.S., most recently at the Ohio State University. She has guest conducted throughout North America and in Europe and is a frequent clinician with all-state and honor choirs in the U.S. and Canada. The University of Toronto MacMillan Singers is an auditioned
mixed choral ensemble at the Faculty of Music. They have premiered works by Canadian and American composers and sing a variety of repertoire spanning several centuries.

Track Listing:
1. There Will Be Stars (3:39)
2. Roses on a Brier (2:02)
3. Night Vision (2:40)
4. Dawn of Night: 1. whisper (2:42)
5. Dawn of Night: 2.hush, hush (4:59)
6. June Night (3:10)
7. Let It Be Forgotten (2:59)
8. The Tree of Song (2:38)
9. Missa Brevis: Kyrie (1:51)
10. Missa Brevis: Sanctus (1:50)
11. Missa Brevis: Benedictus (1:51)
12. Missa Brevis: Agnus Dei (2:30)
13. Forever, Remember Me (2:05)
14. Reconciliation (3:31)
15. A Song of Joys: Shine! Shine! Shine! (3:01)
16. A Song of Joys: My Spirit To Yours, Dear Brother (3:23)
17. The Cold Demands a Silence (3:04)
18. How Still It Is (4:53)
19. Dreams Offer Solace (3:22)
20. Our Garden of Life (3:49)

Product Tags

Use spaces to separate tags. Use single quotes (') for phrases.